Return to Headlines


Congratulations to the C. A. Johnson High School AFJROTC instructors and cadets. Our AFJROTC Program earned the Distinguished Unit Award with Merit, Distinguished Unit Award, and the Outstanding Organization Award for 2019-2020.


These awards recognize the personal growth and accomplishments of the cadets, contributions of the instructors as mentors, and the support of the school and local community. Additionally, the award program recognizes AFJROTC instructors’ diligent work and outstanding achievement in the development of cadets and encourages excellence through recognition of superior accomplishments. This honor is bestowed upon select units that truly represent the best of the 886 AFJROTC units worldwide.


We are fortunate to have two of the best instructors in this citizen development program.


On behalf of the faculty, staff, and administration, we would like to commend Darrell T. Watkins, USAF, Lt. Col (Ret), Senior Aerospace Science Instructor, and CMSgt James M. Powell III (ret), Aerospace Science Instructor, as well as the student cadets for earning their awards.


Congratulations and thank you for your service to our country and the students at C. A. Johnson High School.