Return to Headlines

Seven Richland One Student-Athletes Named Nominees for High School Football Player of the Year

Seven Richland One student-athletes have been selected by the Richland County Recreation Commission as nominees for the 2021 High School Football Player of the Year Award.

This prestigious award is presented annually to the top varsity high school senior football player in the county based on strength of character, academic achievement, community involvement and athletic ability. In addition to the award, the winner will receive a $2,000 scholarship. Seventeen nominees were selected from public and private high schools in Richland County.

Richland One’s nominees are: Lee Davis of Lower Richland High School; Tyrell Green of A.C. Flora High School; Randall McDaniel of Columbia High School; Jaevon Riley of C.A. Johnson High School; Jamodicus Singleton of Eau Claire High School; Joshua Smith of Dreher High School; and Marquece Williams of W.J. Keenan High School

The winner will be selected by a panel comprised of representatives from Columbia media outlets and the 17 Richland County head football coaches. Head coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

The winner will be announced during a virtual ceremony to be held on Dec. 2 at 6:30 p.m. The speaker for this year’s event will be David Davis, a Lower Richland High School graduate who played football at Clemson University and with the New York Giants.

Access to the event will be available via the Richland County Recreation Commission’s YouTube and Facebook accounts. For additional information about the event, contact Adairius Williams, community outreach coordinator for the Richland County Recreation Commission, at (803) 741-7272 ext. 142 or