Return to Headlines

Richland One Announces National, State and Local Awards






Dreher Students Qualify for National Chemistry Competition


Dreher Chemistry


Dreher High School sophomore Leon Wang and junior Michael Shimizu will participate in the National Chemistry Olympiad, a prestigious exam for which only eight high school students from South Carolina were selected to compete. Leon and Michael, who are students in teacher Elizabeth Link’s Advanced Placement chemistry class, qualified for the competition based on their high scores on the Local Chemistry Olympiad, a rigorous 110-minute test that covers collegiate-level chemistry. The U.S. National Chemistry Olympiad program is a chemistry competition for high school students sponsored by the American Chemical Society. It is designed to stimulate young people to achieve excellence in chemistry. This is the third year in a row that Dreher students have been South Carolina delegates to the national competition.



Dreher Student Selected to Attend Prestigious Science Camp


Science Camp


Dreher High School senior Anthony Androulakis has been selected for a special scientific experience – the 2019 National Youth Science Camp (NYSCamp), a summer camp designed to honor and challenge some of the nation’s rising STEM leaders. Androulakis is one of two delegates from South Carolina chosen to attend the camp this summer in West Virginia. A residential STEM program, the NYSCamp offers students the chance to participate in lectures and small group discussions held by STEM professionals, conduct research at the nearby Green Bank Observatory and travel into the Monongahela National Forest, while also having opportunities to go backpacking, rock climbing, caving, mountain biking and kayaking.



14 Richland One Schools Recognized as National Healthy Schools Award Winners


Health Group


Fourteen Richland One schools were formally recognized at ceremonies honoring them as being among the healthiest schools in the nation. In 2018, Richland One had the most National Healthy Schools Award winners of any South Carolina school district. The awards are given by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation. Pictured at the award ceremony are (left to right) Rachel Fobare, a health education teacher at Lower Richland High School; Andrenna Smith, principal of W.G. Sanders Middle School; Christopher Richards, principal of Logan Elementary School; Stephanie Morris, physical education teacher at Satchel Ford Elementary School; Chris Payne, physical education teacher at Bradley Elementary School; Demetris Murray, health education teacher at Eau Claire High School; and David Rashleigh, physical education teacher at Hopkins Middle School.



Heatlhy Schools


Rosewood Elementary School representatives Tamra Paschal, who is the school’s curriculum resource teacher, and Principal Elizabeth Williams accepted a National Healthy Schools Award on behalf of their school at a recent recognition ceremony.





Lower Richland Coach Inducted into SC Track Hall of Fame



Lower Richland High School coach Rickey Griddine is a legend and star maker in track and field in South Carolina. On March 23, Coach Griddine (far right) was surrounded by his very proud family as he was inducted into the Hall of Fame of the South Carolina Track and Cross Country Coaches Association. During his 27 years as a coach at Lower Richland, he has played a crucial role in developing many state champion hurdlers and track stars including Lewis Scott, Mark Jones, Devin Wannamaker, Desmond Wallace and Princess Hammett. In addition to being an exceptional coach, Griddine has been an officer with the Richland County Sheriff’s Department for 35 years.





Arden Student Takes Home First Place in Jr. Chef Competition

Junior Chefs

Bon appétit! Arden Elementary School third-grader Laycee Conway came in first place with a plant-based pizza recipe at the recent Jr. Chef’s Kids in the Kitchen Afterschool Cooking Contest sponsored by The Junior League of Columbia. “Laycee’s Pita Pocket Pizza” recipe received the highest scores from the judges and will be featured on an upcoming menu at district schools. Pictured left to right at the competition are the four finalists (front row) Kanarian Leaphart of E.E. Taylor Elementary School; Laycee Conway; Travis White of E.E. Taylor; and Jacquelyn Jiminez of Arden Elementary School, along with (back row) Tracy Dixon, director of student nutrition services; Dr. Traci Cooper, director of strategic partnerships and extended-day programs; and Sara Eaves, a representative of The Junior League of Columbia. All four young chefs were tasked with developing a plant-based recipe.


Media inquiries should be directed to the Richland One Office of Communications at 231-7504 or 231-7510.