Return to Headlines

Five Richland One Educators Named Emerging Leaders By South Carolina ASCD

Five Richland One educators have been selected as Emerging Leaders by the South Carolina ASCD (formerly the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development). The non-profit organization’s mission is to improve teaching and learning for all students.

South Carolina ASCD’s Emerging Leaders program consists of educators with 5-15 years of experience who want to become more involved in the state’s educational community. Twenty-seven educators from across South Carolina were chosen for the 2023-2024 school year.

Members are expected to share their expertise with ACSD members and the larger education community. Emerging Leaders share their passion and enthusiasm to attract more people to the field, as well as encourage younger educators to improve their practice and become education leaders. They are able to grow their leadership skills through networking experiences and professional development. 

The following Richland One educators were named Emerging Leaders:

Dr. Brenton Coe












Dr. Brenton Coe – C.A. Johnson High School


Tyesha Deas













Tyesha Deas – A.C. Flora High School


Jamarcus Little










Jamarcus Little – John P. Thomas Elementary School


Marie Smith













Marie R. Smith – Middle School ELA Curriculum Consultant


Torri Smith












Torri Smith – Forest Heights Elementary School

Educators interested in applying for the program should click here.