• clock745   Attendance Matters clock745

     


    Taken from Spotlight One * Fall 2019 Edition

    In Richland One we are always working to improve and increase academic achievement.  As we welcome our 24,000 students back to school, it is important that parents and guardians recognize that attending school daily and maintaining a strong attendance record is essential to their child’s success in school. 

     

    Please note these important facts about student attendance:

     

    1. The South Carolina Compulsory Attendance law requires that a child attend school from the school year in which the child is 5 years old before September 1 until the child’s seventeenth birthday.

     

    2. A child, at least 6 years old but not yet 17, who has three unexcused absences in a row or a total of five unexcused absences at any point in the school year, is deemed truant by law and in violation of the South Carolina Compulsory School Attendance law. The law also states that once a child is found to be truant, the parent/guardian must work with the school to develop an attendance plan.

     

    3. Anytime that a student is absent, the parent or guardian must provide a written note to the school explaining the absence within 48 hours of the child returning to school. Legal absences include, but are not limited to illness, death in the immediate family, recognized religious holidays of the student’s faith, emergency conditions as determined by the school administration, inclement weather and short-term suspensions.

     

    4. Students will be referred to the school social worker or other support services staff at any time it is deemed appropriate for excessive excused/unexcused absences for full or partial day absences (i.e. late arrival, early dismissals).

     

    5. Parents or guardians are encouraged to check their child’s attendance regularly and at any time by contacting their child’s school or by logging into the Parent Portal.

     

    6. Parents/guardians also should disclose and discuss with school administrators if extenuating circumstances arise that prevent their child from attending school daily.  Richland One has school social workers and school counselors in place to assist families with options related to student attendance. 

     

    7. There are 180 days in the school year.  Per state regulation, high school students can have only three unexcused absences during a 45-day course, five unexcused absences during a 90-day course, and 10 unexcused absences during 180-day courses to earn course credit. 

     

    Absences can affect students' projected graduation dates and may result in a failure to graduate.  Encouraging regular school attendance is a vital component to academic success.  The more days a student misses from school, the further the student will fall behind academically.  

     

    Let's work together to help your child build the habit of daily attendance.  We know that when we connect and partner with families, we are positioning our students for greatness!  For more information about school attendance laws and policies, contact the Office of School Social Work and Student Attendance at 231-6757.  You can also access the full student attendance and truancy brochure using the link below:


     

     

     

    Link:  Attendance and Truancy brochure.