SCHOOL ZONE LOCATOR
Richland One’s School Zone Locator is a convenient online tool for parents to use to find out which schools their children are zoned to attend and which buses they will ride. To access the School Zone Locator, go to www.richlandone.org, click on the School Zone Locator link and type in the information requested. The 2021-2022 school bus routes are also posted on the district’s website. For more information, contact the Registrar’s Office at 231-6944 or Student Transportation Services at 231-7002.
ENROLLING YOUR CHILD IN SCHOOL
Children must be 5 years old on or before September 1 to enroll in kindergarten and 6 years old on or before September 1 to enroll in first grade. State law requires students to be in school from ages 5 to 17. Parents who choose not to send their child to a public or private 5-year-old kindergarten must sign a waiver to that effect. Waiver forms are available at all elementary schools.
If the child will be enrolling in school for the first time or transferring from another school district, parents should complete the online registration form. The form is posted on the district’s website, www.richlandone.org.
The child’s school will need copies of the following documents:
- Long-form birth certificate
- South Carolina Certificate of Immunization
- Two proofs of residence, such as a copy of a lease or mortgage statement and a copy of a utility bill
- Child’s Social Security card (optional)
For students who are transferring from another school district, parents should take the child’s most recent report card and the check-out card from the previous school, in addition to the documents required for registration. The following documents are recommended for registration, if available: academic record (transcript, report cards, test scores); copy of special education Individualized Education Program (IEP), if applicable; and any other records that will be helpful in placing the student in the appropriate academic program.
Students are assigned to schools based upon where their parents or guardians live. If parents are divorced or legally separated, the student is assigned to a school based upon where the custodial parent lives. If the parents or guardians do not have a lease or utility bill in their names, they must complete the shared housing proof of residence process at their zoned school.
If a student’s permanent home address changes after the first grading period, parents may request permission for the student to remain at the same school for the school year. This request must be made through the Registrar’s Office. If permission is granted, the student must enroll in the zoned school at the beginning of the next school year.
For more information about registration requirements or school assignments, contact the Registrar’s Office at 231-6944.
According to South Carolina state law, every student must present a valid South Carolina Certificate of Immunization showing the minimum immunization requirements at the time of school entrance. If the student is entering from another South Carolina school, he/she must submit an immunization record at registration. Students from out of state have 30 days to comply. Failure to comply will result in disenrollment.
Changes in immunization requirements for the 2016-2017 schedule include:
- 12th grade has been added to the requirement for four doses of diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis.
- 2nd grade has been added to the requirement for two doses of varicella. A child with a positive history of the disease is considered immune and is exempt from this requirement.
- 4th grade has been added to the requirement for three doses of oral and/or inactivated polio vaccine with at least one dose received on or after the fourth birthday.
- 10th grade has been added to the requirement for one Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis) booster. Tdap is routinely administered at 11-12 years of age; however, a dose administered on or after the seventh birthday will meet this requirement.
Please note that the child’s class enrollment (not age) determines which required standards to use – daycare or school. Daycare requirements apply to children enrolled in Pre-K and 4K programs and younger, even if attendance is in a school setting. School requirements apply to children enrolled in 5-year-old kindergarten through grade 12.
Details regarding immunization requirements are outlined in the 2016-2017 schedules of required vaccines for school admittance and day care attendance which are posted on the Richland One website (www.richlandone.org) and on the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control’s website (www.scdhec.gov).
SCHOOL SUPPLY LISTS
School supply lists for elementary schools and middle schools are posted on the district’s website, www.richlandone.org. If you have questions or need more information, contact your child’s school.
- Long-form birth certificate